Jesus Is Either The Way Or No Way At All

As I sat listening to the Sunday School teacher quote these passages, it became clear that Jesus simply could not be one of many ways to God. Jesus is either the one and only way, or no way at all.

He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and he began to be sorrowful and troubled. 38Then he said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.” 39Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”–Matthew 25

He withdrew about a stone’s throw beyond them, knelt down and prayed, 42“Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” 43An angel from heaven appeared to him and strengthened him. 44And being in anguish, he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground.–Luke 22

Jesus is basically saying to the Father, “Hey, if there is another way to do this, then let’s skip this part and go with the other paths. I’m already overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death, and my body is manifesting hematidrosis. Why should I suffer any further if there are other ways for this to be accomplished? So, can we just go with another path to heaven? But, there is no other path. Since there is no other path, I’m willing to drink the only cup that will get the job done. I’m ready, let’s roll.”

Would you suffer getting whipped into hamburger meat, dragging a wooden beam across town and up a hill, and then left hanging by nails in your hands and feet if there were other, less stressful ways to build a bridge to heaven?

Jesus is either the one and only way, or no way at all. Who else opened the freezer door for me when I was trapped? I begged Jesus for help. I’m alive because of something I cannot explain. I believe in John 14:6

 

About defrostingwindows

Husband, Father, Salesman, Veteran, Real Identity: Child of God
This entry was posted in Theology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.