Who Killed JFK? Trivial Pursuit In Heaven?

Map of the Bermuda Triangle

Map of the Bermuda Triangle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I heard a preacher say, “There is nothing too big for God. There is no problem too complex for God to solve.” It was at that moment that my mind took off in the opposite direction and I began asking, “Is there anything too small for God? Is there anything too insignificant for God? Is there anything too trivial for God?”

Will we learn who definitely killed JFK? Does that sound silly to you? Will you learn why things happened to you? Will we learn about unsolved mysteries like the disappearance of flights in the Bermuda Triangle? Unsolved murders? Mysteries in your own life? Unsolved questions that you have never been able to resolve? I might think that these things are simply too trivial to learn about in eternity. I might say that these matters serve no purpose for eternity and are too trivial for God. But are they too trivial for God? Do you think He doesn’t know or care about such trivial matters? What do the scriptures say?

As I have had the chance to ponder these questions and the possibilities, I have been able to formulate this set of questions: Is there anything that God would deem as trivial? Does God see any event, fact, or tidbit as being trivial? Would God ever say, “That is trivial” Is there any scripture where God says, “that doesn’t really matter”?

Being that we are much lower than God, wouldn’t you think that God finds some things about us and our world to be trivial? Here is what astounds me:

1) I think that the number of hairs on your head or my head is a very trivial matter. I really don’t care. To me, this is EXTREMELY trivial. But, God does not think it is trivial at all. Matt. 10:30 And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered.

2) I really don’t care if a tree falls in the forest or if a bird in the middle of nowhere dies. I don’t think it matters…But God does: “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care.” He cares about intimate details (trivia) outside the realm of man. In other words, it ain’t just about things pertaining to you and me.

3) Human tragedies and accidents don’t escape his notice either: “Or those eighteen who died when the tower in Siloam fell on them—do you think they were more guilty than all the others living in Jerusalem? I tell you, no!” 

4) No words go unnoticed; not even careless words: “But I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken.”

5) Small deeds don’t go unnoticed: “And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones because he is my disciple, I tell you the truth, he will certainly not lose his reward.” Didn’t he also focus on the giving of the widow’s mite? He sees it all.

Just because you or I may think that something is simply too trivial to matter, does not mean that it is trivial to God. At this moment, I can’t find a single scripture that indicates that God finds anything to be truly trivial (the passage in Timothy which instructs us about fables and endless genealogies doesn’t tell us to treat them trivially, but WARNS us to not heed them). I can only find the opposite (at this point). Therefore, I conclude that no fact, event, piece of information, mystery, bird on the ground, hair on a head, or prayer request is too trivial to matter to God. I got a feeling that in eternity we will see how small things really do matter and be amazed to see how it all comes together! Jesus enjoyed speaking in parables, asking questions, and playing thought games with the disciples. Who knows, maybe one day in eternity we will play a game of trivial pursuit and find that these pursuits had real purpose. Trivial pursuit in Heaven? Don’t be silly! That’s ridiculous! Yeah, maybe you’re right…That sounds as silly as numbering the hairs on your head. Just wondering out loud.

So, do you want answers? Follow Christ, and he will help you to ask the right questions.

And in time, there will be answers. It is simply not too trivial to Him. In fact, He probably has more interest in it than you do.

About defrostingwindows

Husband, Father, Salesman, Veteran, Real Identity: Child of God
This entry was posted in Theology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who Killed JFK? Trivial Pursuit In Heaven?

  1. Welp, I don’t buy for one second that Lee Harvey Oswald was the lone gun man in his father’s death, and much as been revealed about that as time goes on. JFK was shot because he wouldn’t play the role that the usual puppets of presidents due, so instead he called the elite (who are really calling the shots) out on the carpet. As far as Junior’s death, I don’t think that was an accident, but a part in a plan that most of us are just not privy too, and no, it wasn’t God’s plan. When more about that “accident” shows up, I’ll post back.. till then, happy hunting for answers. It’s alllll smoke n’ mirrors!

  2. Although I would be interested in knowing the truth about the Kennedy assassination, I think after I cross over to the other side it would the be the least of my curiosities.

    There is an old aphorism that goes “the more you know, the more you know you don’t know”. As much as I think I know about Jesus now there is so much more I really don’t know. An eternal preoccupation coming to know Christ and Him only is a wonderful thing.

    Besides, I think it was the Mafia under the auspices of the CIA that had JFK killed. Jim Garrison may have been a little off, but he wasn’t too far wrong.

    • defrostingwindows says:

      Did I ever tell you about the time I inadvertently met and had dinner with mobster boss Carlos Marcello? True story. Ask me next time.

Leave a Reply

