Salt In Sodom

English: Abraham Sees Sodom in Flames, circa 1...

Image via Wikipedia

I wrote some lyrics…

Salt here in Sodom is what we are needing,
Salt here in Sodom today, Oh my Lord I pray!
We don’t another pillar outside of town,
We need some Salt here in Sodom today.

“Sodom’s on the eve of destruction, Yes sir!”
That’s what the Angels say.
“Fire’s rolling in, better pack your bags boy!
There’s nothing standing in the way.”

So Abraham pleaded before the Lord,
“What if you find ten righteous men?”
God said, “If I can find Salt like that,
I’ll spare the city on account of them!”

Salt here in Sodom is what we are needing,
Salt here in Sodom today, Oh my God I pray!
We don’t need another pillar outside of town,
We need some Salt here in Sodom today.

Now Lot’s wife she didn’t want to go, you know,
Her heartbeat was begging to stay,
She heard the sound, turned around,
And from head to ground,
She became a briny little pillar that day

Preacher Polk, I heard he spoke,
“It ain’t no joke; Listen folk,
You’re the Salt of the Earth today
So turn about, stand up stout, and shake it out,
Cause a little Salt can go a long, long way!”

Salt here in Sodom is what we are needing,
Salt here in Sodom today, Oh my God I pray!
We don’t need another pillar outside of town,
We need some Salt here in Sodom today.

Hey, hey, hey now

Salt in our city is a what we are needing,
Salt in our city today, Oh my friend let’s pray!
We don’t a briny pillar outside of town,
We need some Salt in our city today!

Written after hearing a sermon from Gen. 18 (Abraham’s plea for Sodom), Gen. 19:26 (Lot’s wife turned to a pillar of Salt) , and Matt. 5: 13 (You are the Salt of the Earth). It’s copyrighted, does anyone want to make a record?
Creative Commons License
Defrosting Windows by defrostingwindows.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

About defrostingwindows

Husband, Father, Salesman, Veteran, Real Identity: Child of God
This entry was posted in Theology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salt In Sodom

  1. Donna says:

    Okay….I don’t know why this post has caught my attention so hard, but the first thought that came to my head was this….Lot’s wife became salt! I think I’d rather be sprinkled than turn into one huge lump!
    Donna
    anotherbattlewon.blogspot.com

  2. Jack says:

    It caught my immediate attention, too, from the very first line. I also thought about Lot’s wife at first as I read it, but soon I realized the poem’s direction. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this.

Leave a Reply

